Search for anything

Aves Filipinas

  • Start

    14 March 2013
  • End

    05 April 2013
  • Artists

    Alain Del Pascua, Arnel Ceriola, Carlo Benitez Gomez, Earl Cano Yulo, Jimmy Javier, Keith Sundiang, Neon Rosell II, Nic Cabigas, Ramon Quisumbing, Reuel Aguila, Rey Sta. Ana, Steve Albano, Tirso Paris, Ven Rojas
  • Gallery

    3rd Level Greenbelt 5 Ayala Center Makati City

Birds as national treasures worth preserving are hardly a priority in the fast paced lifestyle of the 21st century.But when an archipelago of 7,107 islands has the third largest number of endemic avian wildlife in the world, it is inconceivable that no one will notice the special biodiversity of birds in this tropical location.

Introducing the Wild Birds Photographers of the Philippines (WBPP), a dedicated assembly of Filipino photographers with a passion for taking photographs of Philippine endemic birds in their natural habitat. Our goal is to enhance awareness and appreciation for the conservation and preservation of birds and the environment in general.

Through the creative use of their lenses, this exhibit showcases the creative works of visual artists of world class caliber as a way of sharing the avian treasures of the Philippines.

Aves Filipinas: Philippine Avian Treasures aims to help two private bird sanctuaries in the Philippines established by bird photographer and conservationist Atty. Ramon Quisumbing, namely the Capayas Creek Bird Preserve in Coron, Palawan and the BK Valley Bird Sanctuary in Dolores, Quezon.

Ramon pioneered a practical conservation approach which empowered local communities. Dubbed as the “Nest Stewardship Program”, mountain farmers enjoy financial rewards by reporting sightings of birds that are building their nests. These nests are closely monitored until the hatchlings have successfully fledged.

Through this exhibition, WBPP aims to replicate this stewardship program in all the bird sanctuaries in the Philippines.

This rare exhibition features 14 photographers from the group including Rey Sta. Ana, Alain Del Pascua, Ramon Quisumbing, Tirso Paris, Jimmy Javier, Ven Rojas, Earl Cano Yulo, Neon Rosell II, Carlo Benitez Gomez, Keith Sundiang, Arnel Ceriola, Reuel Molina Aguila, Nic Cabigas, and Steve Albano.